My Space very quickly took away 1,000’s of paying members from Dating sites.

Users asked themselves, “Why pay .99 a month when I can create my own profile, view other user’s profiles, and chat directly with them?

You negotiate all the details with them and get paid directly by them First you need to fill out our application.

Once you are approved (usually within an hour of signing up) your profile is made live on Rent

If you’re a female who’s ever used OKCupid and the like for any amount of time, you’ve probably received your fair share of absolutely creepy messages. At the time, I was temping at a small mortgage company by O’Hare, covering for a woman who was out on maternity leave. Back then, “community management” was limited to moderating comments, posting messages and basically making sure people weren’t going batshit crazy on message boards.

In fact, I’m guessing many of you men have, as well. I applied, figuring this was something I could do to distract myself while bored at work.

Venmo’s privacy settings changed in 2015, as seen on Android in Figure 2.

A new version of the app added a “Transactions Involving You” setting that is the same as the “Can share transactions involving me” setting on the Venmo website.

Rent is a unique website that allows people to place free profiles on Rent to advertise their friendship.

Rent is NOT a dating website, rather it's a website where people can “Rent Your Friendship”.

Under Venmo’s complicated privacy decision tree, a user needs to remember to change two similar-sounding settings to the most private option in order to guarantee that by default all future transactions, regardless of who initiates the transaction, are only visible to the participants involved.

According to a 2014 paper, as many as 50% of transactions on Venmo are publicly shared [10]. A screenshot of my public feed on 10/15/15, which any user who navigates to my Venmo page while not logged into the site will see. I had specified that by default all transactions involving me will be private regardless of who initiates the transaction.

However, the change log did not notify users about the new setting when it was added to the app [11].